Panera Bread Pumpkin Spice Latte and Pumpkin Muffie

Panera Bread is one of my favorite places to eat ever … my mom says because I have expensive tastes in sandwiches. But I just have a big thing for comfort foods, so soups, paninis, and baked goods are right up my ally. In late September, my mother came to visit me (yay groceries), and, as per usual, took me out to Panera Bread for lunch/dinner. You can imagine my excitement when I saw pumpkin already invading the cafe.

The pumpkin spice latte was an unfortunate experience. I do like the Panera lattes, especially the caramel, but this was extremely bitter. I also had a difficult time finding the pumpkin flavor in the drink. Cinnamon was the only ingredient that hinted towards it being a pumpkin spice latte. I love Panera, but this needs serious improvement.

Pumpkin Spice Latte: 1/5

I have seen the calories on the Panera muffins and have not touched one since, so I always get muffies instead and split them with my mom because they are a decent size and a more acceptable amount of calories. The pumpkin muffie just looked extremely promising with its familiar orange coloring and dusting of powdered sugar. I took a bite and it was easily one of the best pumpkin bread-y products I have had.  It was moist, and the pumpkin and pumpkin spice all shine through clearly but with pumpkin being the stronger flavor, as it should be. Other than it being 300 calories for one, this could not have been any better.

Pumpkin Muffie: 5/5

1 thought on “Panera Bread Pumpkin Spice Latte and Pumpkin Muffie

Leave a comment